JACFA Committee Members

Academic Year 2022-2023

Academic Council

Academic Council is a sub-committee of the Board of Governors which provides advice to the College on all academic issues.

Faculty Representatives:

  • Suzanne Black, Chemistry
  • Geoffrey Cook, English
  • Philip Cooper, Psychology
  • Antoine Herlin, Mathematics
  • Evgeni Kiriy, Eng. Tech
  • Maria Mastorakos, Physics
  • Abe Sosnowicz, English
  • Michele Trepanier, English
  • Jessica Vandervort, HEPS
  • Caroline Viger, Physics
  • Tom Young, HPR

Permanent Substitutes:

  • Geneviève Caron, French

Faculty Labour Relations Committee (CRT)

The Faculty Labour Relations Committee (CRT) is where JACFA representatives and the College administration meet to discuss and resolve issues concerning the application or interpretation of the collective agreement, including the allocation of teaching resources to disciplines and departments.

Faculty Representatives:

  • Adil D’Sousa, English
  • Roy Fu, HPR
  • Maria Mastorakos, Physics
  • Alexandre Panassenko, Mathematics
  • Nicholas Tosaj, HEPS
  • Sarwat Viqar, HPR

Faculty Professional Development Committee

FPDC is a parity committee of JACFA and the College that establishes faculty professional development priorities and allocates the professional development fund.

Faculty Representatives:

  • David Desjardins, HEPS
  • Alice McLeod, Mathematics
  • John Serrati, HEPS
  • Candis Steenbergen, HPR
  • Fiona Stewart, English

Financial Review Committee

The JACFA Financial Review Committee meets with JACFA’s Treasurer to review the revenues and expenditures of the association once each semester, and makes recommendations, if necessary, to the Executive and to the General Assembly.


  • Ed Hudson, Chemistry
  • Claire Russell, English
  • Carolyn Viger, Physics

Sustainability Committee

The Sustainability Committee advises the College on environmental sustainability issues.

Faculty Representatives:

  • Jessica Burpee, Geosciences
  • Julien Morency- Laflamme, HEPS
  • Darren Millar, English

Harassment Awareness Committee

The Harassment Awareness Committee’s work is to advise the College and to raise awareness within the college community about the issue of sexual or psychological harassment.

Faculty Representatives:

  • Louise Castonguay, YACI
  • Andrew Cuk, Theatre

Innovation, Research & Development Committee

The IRDC meets to review and recommend approval of all research projects conducted at the college.

Faculty Representatives:

  • Valerie Bherer, English
  • Derrick Chung, Mathematics
  • Phoebe Jackson, Physics
  • Sheila Nadimi, Visual Arts

Food Services Advisory Committee

The Food Service Advisory Committee meets to discuss the results of the annual evaluation surveys for the overall food services offered at the College and to make recommendations on ways to improve this service.

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Claire Russell, English
  • Christine Tellier, French

Research Ethics Board

Faculty Representatives:

  • Murray Bronet, Chemistry
  • Shireef Darwish, Biology
  • Anila Hasko, Dental Hygiene
  • Rekha Iyer, Chemistry
  • Catherine McConnell, Dental Hygiene
  • Etienne Portelance, Physics
  • Laura Shillington, Geosciences

JACFA Climate Change Committee

  • Sabrina Gloux, Anthropology
  • Shannon Ikebe, HPR
  • Roxane Millette, Biology

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Faculty Representatives: 

  • Rosalind Belgrave, Nursing
  • Elisha Conway, Theatre
  • Laura Pfeiffer, Physical Education
  • Sarwat Viqar, HPR

For lists of members of committees from past years, click here.