Respect JACFA, stage 2: letters to DG

Dear colleagues,

In our next stage of the Respect JACFA campaign, we would like to invite faculty to write an email to the Administration to voice your concerns about the College’s recent move towards unilateral decision-making, in both the push towards payment of non-perms by CI and the cutting of JACFA release. Here are some ideas you might want to include in your message:

  • Why you think it’s important for faculty and the Administration to arrive at negotiated agreements and, whenever possible, avoid unilateral decision-making;
  • Your experience as a non-permanent teacher, and the added security that we have when we know we’ll be paid a full contract if we work full time;
  • Your concern for maintaining the principle of protecting reduced-enrollment courses;
  • Your experience as a department coordinator, in working with non-permanent teacher schedules and reduced-enrollment courses;
  • Your concerns as a member of a union, and the importance of union release to the overall functioning of the college and the maintenance of collegial relationships between faculty and the Administration
  • any questions you may have resulting from recent College communications on these issues

We invite you to address your concerns to Director General John Halpin and cc other members of the Administration (HR Director Annie Tam; Academic Dean Gordon Brown; Associate Deans Roger Haughey, Teresa Berghello and Doug Brown). Please also cc JACFA. We also encourage you to cut and paste the blue “Respect” logo into your message.

Finally, we would like to remind you to wear your “Respect” buttons anytime you are on campus, until the end of the semester in June. There are still plenty of buttons in the JACFA office.

The JACFA Executive is currently working on planning the next stages of the campaign, which will be confirmed at the May 16 General Assembly. We really hope you can make that meeting.

In solidarity,

The JACFA Executive

 Roy Fu
Jeffery Brown
Stephen Bryce
Richard Masters
Ethan Mombourquette
Tanya Rowell-Katzemba